DELTA or bust?

Posted: 10/29/2012 in Media Literacy, Personal, Television
Tags: , ,

I realize we’re in Breast Cancer Awareness Month. I just didn’t expect for a woman to bare her breasts 6” from my face on an airplane. This isn’t an April Fools gag; it’s October after all. I’m telling you the naked truth. The encounter happened on DELTA Flight #16 last Saturday.

One minute this thirty-something blonde was fully clothed. The next moment she stripped off her top revealing what Solomon poetically describes as “two fawns, like twin fawns of a gazelle” (7:3 NIV). These “fawns” were au naturel, as in “naked as a jaybird.”

A wardrobe malfunction? Nope. This was a deliberate full frontal exposure.

Not to quibble with the wisest man who ever lived, but Solomon was mistaken when he quipped, “There is nothing new under the sun.” After all, I’ve traveled more than 511,000 miles on DELTA and that has never happened to me before.

I’m no prude. I’ve considered making Proverbs 5:19 my life verse: “. . . rejoice in the wife of your youth . . . Let her breasts satisfy you at all times; Be exhilarated always with her love” (NASB). Admittedly, I haven’t quite figured out how “at all times” is supposed to work on a practical level, but I digress.

I was seated in “sardine class” where every one of the 300 seats was taken on this massive 777LR jet. The cabin lights had been dimmed for the 4-hour flight from Los Angeles to Atlanta. My eyes slowly adjusted to the anemic glow from a few hundred seat-mounted TV screens flickering in the darkness.

Since we haven’t owned a TV for the last 16 years which, granted, is un-American, I thought I’d do my patriotic duty by imbibing in a show. I picked one called the BOSS—a Chicago political drama with a warning label. I’m thinking, “Sure, it’s rated TV-MA for a mature audience, but how nasty could it be when shown on a TV in a public place, right?”

When the blonde tore her top off and reached for her partner’s zipper, I instinctively grabbed a vomit bag to cover the action unfolding on the TV monitor inches from my face. I held the bag in position until both the gratuitous nudity and ensuing sex scene passed. I could tell the offending material was over when the grunts, groans and moans in my headset gave way to dialogue in a new scene.

Let’s say I was a jaded, voyeuristic TV addict who, like a peeping tom, digs watching strangers grope and fondle their way to a climax—which I’m obviously not. Can reasonable adults at least agree there’s something seriously wrong about offering that sort of sordid fare on an airplane where children and discerning adults are present?

DELTA makes a big deal about their efforts to recycle aluminum cans, plastic bottles, and newspapers to preserve the environment. Their website even asserts: “DELTA is committed to preventing pollution wherever possible.”

Maybe one day DELTA will be equally convicted about polluting the moral environment of their passengers.

Leave a Reply

